Same idea: earn your screen time instead of just blocking it. Different currency: a configured activity, not coins.
In short
Unrot's current listing uses a coin economy. HabitUnlock instead puts walking from Apple Health, timed push-ups, guided breathing, or a configured habit directly in the access flow. The free tier covers 1 app and 3 habits; HabitUnlock Pro adds unlimited apps and habits, Deep Lock, two streak freezes per month, and detailed stats. Current US prices start at $39.99/year, and storefront prices vary.
Product details change; check Unrot’s current App Store listing.
Unrot: Earn your Screen Time is a separate product with a coin-based earned-time mechanic. Check its current App Store listing for developer, features, ratings, and pricing.
Its current listing describes a coin economy: completing real-world habits earns coins that can be spent on screen time. Verify the available habits, supported apps, and purchase options on the current listing.
One thing we deliberately will not tell you: exactly which Unrot features sit behind those paid tiers. We can read a public App Store listing; we cannot audit another team's paywall from the outside, and guessing would be the kind of comparison-page fiction that made you distrust these pages in the first place. Open the listing and check before you assume.
If your search results look contradictory, this is why. The listing most people mean is "Unrot: Earn your Screen Time" by Unrot OÜ — the coin-based one described above. A second App Store listing that search engines still surface under the Unrot name now appears as "Untap: Limit Screen Time App" by Vishal Pawar, a different app from a different developer built around open-delays and friction rather than earned coins. Check the current developer names and listings before choosing.
Practical takeaway: verify the title and developer name on the current listing before relying on a review or comparison.
We only list rows we can source. Where a fact isn't publicly checkable, it isn't in the table.
| What you're comparing | HabitUnlock | Unrot: Earn your Screen Time |
|---|---|---|
| Core mechanic | Activity gate — walking from Apple Health, timed push-ups, or guided breathing | Coin economy — habits earn coins, coins buy screen time |
| Is there a currency to manage? | No — the gate opens or it doesn't | Yes — coins are earned, banked and spent |
| Free tier | Yes — 1 app + 3 habits | Free to download with in-app purchases |
| Paid pricing | Current US prices: $39.99/year or $6.99/month or $4.99/week; storefront prices vary |
Check the current App Store purchase sheet |
| Verification source | Apple Health (walking and step goals) | Not stated on the public listing |
| Blocking API | Apple Screen Time / Family Controls | Not stated on the public listing |
*Unrot features, ratings, and prices change; verify its current App Store listing before purchasing.
A currency adds a decision between the action and the access. HabitUnlock removes that intermediate balance: completing the configured activity or habit can grant access.
Walking and step goals come from Apple Health; push-ups are timed and breathing is guided in-app.
There is no in-app override, and the block survives a force-quit while Family Controls permission remains enabled. iOS Settings and removing HabitUnlock can still affect blocking.
The free tier supports one blocked app and up to three habits, with no trial countdown.
The most common search behind this page. It deserves a straight answer.
The free tier lets you evaluate the activity-or-habit gate with one blocked app and up to three habits before deciding whether Pro fits your needs.
Compare both current listings, then choose the interaction model and plan that fit your devices and routine.
Competitor features and prices change; verify current listings before you buy.
| App | Mechanic | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Opal → | Focus rules and timer controls | Check current listing |
| Freedom → | Scheduled blocks across supported platforms | Check current listing |
| one sec → | Multiple interventions and blocking tools | Check current listing |
| ScreenZen → | Delays, schedules, limits, prompts, and lock mode | Check current listing |
| AppBlock → | Schedules and usage-limit profiles | Free plan with limits; paid monthly / yearly / lifetime |
Want all of them side by side? Read the best app blocker 2026 ranking.
Unrot's current listing describes habits that earn coins which can be spent on screen time. HabitUnlock instead places a configured walking, timed push-up, guided-breathing, or habit goal directly in the access flow. Adjacent options use their own intervention, scheduling, and blocking controls; verify every current listing before choosing.
HabitUnlock's free tier supports 1 app and up to 3 habits. HabitUnlock Pro adds unlimited apps and habits; current US prices are $39.99/year, $6.99/month, or $4.99/week, and storefront prices vary. Apple determines introductory-offer eligibility. Check Unrot's current listing for its latest prices and purchases.
The difference is the currency. Unrot uses a coin economy: you complete real-world habits such as walking, reading, exercising or chores, earn coins, then spend those coins to unlock apps like TikTok, Instagram or YouTube. HabitUnlock removes the intermediate currency — your chosen apps are gated behind walking from Apple Health, timed push-ups, or guided breathing. Nothing to budget, nothing to bank, nothing to spend.
Because the name has been used by more than one developer. The listing most people mean is "Unrot: Earn your Screen Time" by Unrot OÜ, the coin-based one. A second listing that search engines still surface under the Unrot name now appears as "Untap: Limit Screen Time App" by Vishal Pawar — a different app with a different developer and a delay-and-friction mechanic. Check the current developer names and listings before choosing. If a review or comparison confuses you, check the developer name on the listing.
Deep Lock removes HabitUnlock's in-app override, delays protected-setting changes for 24 hours while active, and survives force-quit while Family Controls permission remains enabled. A configured habit or activity can still grant access; iOS Settings and removing HabitUnlock can affect blocking.
No. HabitUnlock reads walking and step goals from Apple Health, and an iPhone records steps on its own. Apple Watch step data can contribute through Apple Health, but HabitUnlock has no Watch companion app and does not require a Watch.
You choose supported apps, categories, or web domains through Apple's Family Activity picker. Availability is controlled by Apple and the selected plan. HabitUnlock publishes setup guides for common social apps.
Step-by-step guides for the feeds people most want to escape.
Managing focus with ADHD? See the screen time app for ADHD guide.